Singing and Guitar

Well, as should be expected I didnt make it where I had hoped to for the evening.  The day was made slower by road construction and military checkpoints.  The checkpoints are one of the few times I am actually glad I dont speak Spanish as after a few confusing words Im always ushered through.  I suspect Id be anyway as a female American on a motorcycle but the lack of ability to speak makes everything all the quicker.

I did make it to El Rosario and Im glad I didnt go any further as this place has a history Id have missed were it a bit earlier in the day when I rode through.  Right now Im sitting in Mama Espinosas which is and has been a checkpoint on the Baja 1000 since the beginning of the race.  There are signed pictures all over the walls from various racers and I cant help but think of those that are no longer with us do to the risks they take.  Not sure why my mind goes there but with pictures this old there are certainly a number who have passed from one reason or the other.  Perhaps it’s because I keep passing dead dogs.  They are everywhere and even when you dont see them you smell them.  Oddly Im not really all that disturbed by it.

The ride yesterday was fantastic.  Just enough bits of really twisty highway peppered with longer straight stretches to give you a rest and let you make a bit more time.  Thats how I like my road, a mix of fun and intense and relaxing and fast.

There is definitely nothing better than going at my own pace though I do need to learn to stop and sight see every once in a while.  In some ways it felt like riding in Eastern Washington as I spent a lot of time riding through HUGE agriculture.  I cant remember the name of the berry grower now but I saw the place where all the berries from Mexico sold at Whole Foods and the like are grown.  Ludicrously huge fields and some of the grow houses look like either barracks or work camp tents.  I didnt get a picture but will try to on the way back.  It was sad to see such huge agriculture in a place that really probably cant support it.  But then Id drive past smaller homes and farms with integrated systems and always wanted to stop and chat.  Fruit trees, a few animals, beautiful gardens.  They arent the norm but they exist.

I keep wondering whats up with all the half-finished buildings.  I wonder if any of my friends with more history and knowledge would know.  These arent places that have fallen down but just places only half built.  It makes sense that people might run out of money or just build what they can afford when they can afford it (wonder what the US would look like without excessive credit?) but to see that everywhere is interesting.

Yesterday also rode past another adventure rider, loaded up with stuff heading the other direction.  I wonder who he was and what his story is.  Theres a lot of that, wondering what the story is, and sadly this is where my lack of Spanish doesnt pay off.  I will not probably get an explanation.  If only what I study of the language would stick but I suspect it would take me years studying in the states to be able to speak even basic Spanish.

Welcome Racers!

So in a second I will pack up, hit the Pemex (the state run gas station) and hit to road to San Ignacio, described by many as an oasis.  While the 310 miles should be doable leaving this early I wont count on anything as I have no idea how twisty the road may be, or if they might be repairing it and thus is really just a dirt track, or maybe the military will want to make sure Im not bringing anything explody into the area.  Who knows?

 

PS, sorry to you spelling Nazis (me included sometimes) for the lack of proper punctuation… This keyboard is tricky and Ive yet to find the apostrophe even though Ive pressed multiple combinations of keys.  I can however do this ¡ ¿¡

About Jessica Dally

A random blog about travel, personal transformation, riding motorcycles solo, social media and whatever else seems interesting at the moment. View all posts by Jessica Dally

3 responses to “Singing and Guitar

  • jessicadally

    I guess I should add the reason for the title of the post is that this morning at 8am there is a guy out back of this restaurant playing guitar and singing. It doesnt get any more authentic then that. Why dont we get that in the morning in the US?
    Also, more pictures coming as soon as I can get to a computer that will load them in under 2 hours.

  • Werner

    Re: “I keep wondering whats up with all the half-finished buildings.  I wonder if any of my friends with more history and knowledge would know.  These arent places that have fallen down but just places only half built.  It makes sense that people might run out of money or just build what they can afford when they can afford it (wonder what the US would look like without excessive credit?) but to see that everywhere is interesting.”

    Don’t know about Mexico, but last time I was in southern Italy, they were building whenever they had money, so there were lots of unfinished buildings around.

  • Anna

    I was going to say the same thing about the half finished buildings. A lot of families are able to build nicer homes because they have relatives working in the states and sending them money every month. It could be that they build as they have money or that they thought the money would keep coming but due to our recession their stateside family members haven’t been able to send them as much.
    I heard a news piece about luxurious homes in developing countries owned by people that on their own couldn’t have afforded to build them, but remittances from their stateside family members allowed them to build.

Leave a Reply

